Alfred Darda

born 1937 in Sickingmühle, Germany

The painter Alfred Darda was born in 1937 in Sickingmühle, Westphalia. He received his formal education at the Werkkunstschule (Arts College) Dortmund, the Folkwang University of the Arts Essen and the Academy of Fine Arts Munich. Following his initial success in the field of Concrete Painting, the artist made a shift in 1973 towards so-called integrative thinking and creating, an approach based on Zen Buddhist principles that has since defined his work. His first solo exhibit was held in 1974 at the Städtische Galerie (Urban Gallery) in Lenbachhaus in the former Kunstforum. Through the constant evolution of his approach, Darda developed a highly individual and distinct style and advanced to become one of the most interesting figures in the field of modern art. Up until 2012 the painter kept a workshop on Adalberstraße in Munich with his wife, painter Erika Hausdörffer. They have since moved to a farmhouse in Allgäu where they currently live and work.


Darda’s work is imbued with philosophical intonations. For him, painting is a dialogue with the tangible, creativity a holistic principle essential to mankind, the creation of art synonymous with savoir vivre. He views the reconciliation between human nature and the natural world as an integral prerequisite for an unfettered creative process. Starting with all manner of discovered objects, the painter explores the structural properties of material and draws from them the basis for his diverse design ideas.


Alfred Darda never bowed down to the principles of the art market and the dependency associated with them. Nevertheless his work achieved widespread recognition and pervasiveness as evidenced by its acquisition on the part of renowned institutions like the Staatliche Grafische Sammlung (State Graphic Collection), Munich; the Städtische Galerie (Urban Gallery) in Lenbachhaus, Munich; the Bavarian State Painting Collections, Munich; the German Bundestag, the Bayerische Beamtenversicherung (Bavarian Insurance for Civil Servants), the Munich Reinsurance Company and more. His work has also been frequently presented to the public in solo and group exhibitions. In 1982 Alfred Darda received the distinguished Seerosenpreis presented to distinguished artists in the Munich area.

2016 
Castle Lautrach (Germany)

2010  
Kunstverein Bad Aibling (Germany)

2004 
Goethe-Institut, München

1999 
Galerie Méautis, Munich (Germany)

1995 
Galerie Casa, Lüneburg (Germany)

1995 
Galerieverein Reutte (Austria)

1990  
Galerie „ An der hohen Schule“, Ingolstadt (Germany)

1985  
Kunstverein Emmerich (Germany)

1982 
Künstlerhaus, Mainz

1980  
BAT-Galerie , Bayreuth

1977 
Galerie Mensch, Hamburg (Germany)

1975 
Gallery Witkowska, Brussels (Belgium)

1974 
Municipal Gallery in Lenbachhaus Museum, Munich (Germany)

Portfolio

Artworks

geb.1937 in Sickingmühle, Deutschland

Der 1937 in Sickingmühle/Westfalen geborene Maler Alfred Darda erhielt seine Ausbildung an der Werkkunstschule Dortmund, der Folkwangschule Essen und der Kunstakademie München. Nach ersten Erfolgen auf dem Feld der konkreten Malerei, wandte sich der Künstler ab 1973 dem so genannten integralen Denken und Schaffen zu, einer auf Prinzipien des Zen-Buddhismus beruhenden Betrachtungsweise, die fortan seine Arbeit bestimmte. Seine erste Einzelnausstellung veranstaltete die Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus 1974 im damaligen Kunstforum. Unter steter Weiterentwicklung seines Ansatzes, gelangte Darda zu einem höchst individuellen, unverwechselbaren Stil und avancierte zu einer der interessantesten Persönlichkeiten auf dem Felde der modernen Kunst. Bis zum Jahre 2012 führte der Maler, zusammen mit seiner Frau, der Malerin Erika Hausdörffer, ein Atelier in der Adalbertstraße in München, anschließend erfolgte der Umzug auf den gemeinsamen Bauernhof im Allgäu, wo das Paar bis heute lebt und arbeitet.


Dardas Werk ist von philosophischen Ansätzen durchdrungen. Malerei ist für ihn Dialog mit dem Dinglichen, Kreativität ein ganzheitliches, dem Menschen essentiell zu eigenes Prinzip, Kunstausübung gleichbedeutend mit Lebenskunst. Die Persönlichkeit in Einklang mit Natur und Umwelt zu bringen, sieht er als wesentliche Voraussetzung für einen unbelasteten Schaffensprozess. Ausgehend von Fundstücken unterschiedlichster Art und Herkunft, erforscht der Maler die strukturellen Eigenschaften von Materie und bezieht daraus die Grundlagen für vielfältige Gestaltungsideen.


Den Gesetzen des Kunstmarktes und den damit verbundenen Abhängigkeiten hat sich Alfred Darda nie unterworfen. Dennoch fanden seine Arbeiten weitreichende Anerkennung und Verbreitung, was durch Ankäufe renommierter Institutionen belegt wird: Staatliche Grafische Sammlung, München; Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus, München; Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlung, München, Deutscher Bundestag, Bayerische Beamtenversicherung, Münchner Rückversicherung, u.a. In Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen werden seine Werke regelmäßig der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert. Im Jahre 1982 erhielt Alfred Darda den begehrten Seerosenpreis, der an verdiente Künstler aus dem Münchner Raum vergeben wird.

2016 
Schloß Lautrach

2010  
Kunstverein Bad Aibling

2004 
Goethe-Institut, München

1999 
Galerie Méautis, München

1995 
Galerie Casa, Lüneburg

1995 
Galerieverein Reutte, Österreich

1990  
Galerie „ An der hohen Schule“, Ingolstadt

1985  
Kunstverein Emmerich

1982 
Künstlerhaus, Mainz

1980  
BAT-Galerie , Bayreuth

1977 
Galerie Mensch, Hamburg

1975 
Galerie Witkowska, Brüssel

1974 
Städt. Galerie im Lenbachhaus, München

Portfolio

Kunstwerke

Menü schließen
DE
EN DE
×