Federico Murgia_Artquisite

born in1989 in Sardinia, Italy

Minimalism and reduction… one of the first things the viewer notices when looking at the works of Federico Murgia. Owing to the tradition of conceptual, abstract artists, such as Sol LeWitt, who became popular in the 1950s and 1960s, the native Sardinian (born 1989) places great importance on what is essential: lines, symbols, markings, the contrast of black and white. He manages to create rhythmical images without the use of striking colour combinations or motives. Here, he uses classic techniques, such as photography, graphic reproduction or drawing, and furthermore creates sculptures or technically complex light and sound installations.

Murgia is especially passionate about audio and sounds. This, he says, causes him to explore the correlations and relationships between sound, light and other immaterial elements of the world surrounding us in an artistic manner. At the same time, he explores how immateriality may be made into something tangible, namely by visualising chord progressions in his works. He uses all mediums mainly to create experiences, to trigger feelings and associations, rather than to generate actual objects.

The concept approach is continued by Murgia working in series, which carry titles such as “Dots” (2015), “Filling the void” (2016) or “One million dots” (2017). His preferred tool is a white permanent marker on black paper. The entire area – or the “void”, the emptiness of the underground in a literal sense – is filled with dots in a repetitive creative process. Here, mechanical precision and human moments are intertwined, namely when the artist does not proceed like a machine would, but where his signature is reflected in every dot. The surface is to be as even as possible, without seeming “flat”: rather, the respective impressions vary depending on the angle, incidence of light and distance between the viewer and the image. Here, Federico Murgia manages to expertly combine minimalistic image traditions with state-of-the-art techniques and contemporary ideas.

2017
Oude Mariakerk, Zandvoort (Netherlands)
The drawing Hub, Berlin (Germany)

2016
De Gym, Groningen (Netherlands)

2015
„Two point Zero“, Laden Fuer Nichts, Leipzig (Germany)
"Gogbot", De Wonne, Enschede (Netherlands) Centrum Beeldende Kunst, Groningen (Netherlands)
Academie Minerva, Groningen (Netherlands)
Gallery Bart Invites, Amsterdam (Netherlands)

2014
Np3, Groningen (Netherlands)
Frank Mohr Institute, Groningen (Netherlands)
Waddenacademy, Terschelling (Netherlands)
“Immersioni sonore”, Circolo Transponsonic, Macomer (Italy)

2013
„Night of art and Science“, Kunst- und Mediacampus, Hamburg (Germany)

2012
Castello Angioino, Mola di Bari (Italy)
„Grafica d‘ Arte“, Accademia di Belle Arti, Bologna (Italy)

Portfolio

Artworks

Close Menu
EN
DE EN
×

Federico Murgia_Artquisite

geb.1989 in Sardinien, Italien

Minimalismus und Reduktion…ist das Erste, das dem Betrachter angesichts der Arbeiten von Federico Murgia in den Sinn kommt. In der Tradition konzeptuell arbeitender, abstrakter Künstler wie Sol LeWitt, die in den 1950er- und 1960er-Jahren populär wurden, legt der gebürtige Sarde (geb. 1989) den Schwerpunkt auf das Wesentliche: Linien, Zeichen, Strichführung, Kontraste von Schwarz und Weiß. Ohne plakative Farbkombinationen oder Bildmotive erzeugt er einen rhythmischen Bildaufbau. Dabei verwendet er klassische Techniken wie Fotografie, Druckgrafik oder Zeichnung und fertigt zudem Skulpturen oder technisch aufwendige Licht- und Sound-Installationen.

Gerade für Töne und Klänge hegt Murgia eine persönliche Leidenschaft. Diese, so sagt er, bringe ihn dazu, Wechselwirkungen und Beziehungen zwischen Klang, Licht und anderen immateriellen Elementen der uns umgebenden Welt künstlerisch zu untersuchen. Zugleich erprobt er, wie sich diese Immaterialität in etwas Greifbares überführen lässt, indem er Klangfolgen in seinen Werken visualisiert. In allen Medien geht es ihm mehr darum, Erfahrungen zu schaffen, Gefühle und Assoziationen zu wecken, als tatsächliche Objekte zu generieren.

Der konzeptuelle Ansatz setzt sich darin fort, dass Murgia in Serien arbeitet, die Titel tragen wie „Dots“ (2015), „Filling the void“ (2016) oder „One million dots“ (2017). Sein bevorzugtes Werkzeug hierbei sind weiße Permanentmarker auf schwarzem Papier. Die gesamte Fläche – oder „void“, die Leere des Untergrunds wie im übertragenen Sinne – füllt sich in einem repetitiven Schaffensprozess mit Punkten. Hierbei verbinden sich eine beinahe mechanische Präzision und das Moment des Menschlichen, wenn der Künstler eben nicht exakt wie eine Maschine agiert, sondern seine Handschrift sich in jedem Punkt widerspiegelt. Die Oberfläche soll so eben wie möglich bleiben, ohne „flach“ zu wirken: Vielmehr verändert sich der Eindruck stetig, je nach Blickwinkel, Lichteinfall und Entfernung des Betrachters zum Bild. So gelingt es Federico Murgia, minimalistische Bildtraditionen mit modernsten Techniken und zeitgemäßen Ideen in gekonnter Weise zu verknüpfen.

2017
Oude Mariakerk, Zandvoort (Niederlande)
The drawing Hub, Berlin (Deutschland)

2016
De Gym, Groningen (Niederlande)

2015
„Two point Zero“, Laden Fuer Nichts, Leipzig (Deutschland)
“Gogbot”, De Wonne, Enschede (Niederlande)Centrum Beeldende Kunst, Groningen (Niederlande)
Academie Minerva, Groningen (Niederlande)
Galerie Bart Invites, Amsterdam (Niederlande)

2014
Np3, Groningen (Niederlande)
Frank Mohr Institute, Groningen (Niederlande)
Waddenacademie, Terschelling (Niederlande)
“Immersioni sonore”, Circolo Transponsonic, Macomer (Italien)

2013
„Night of art and Science“, Kunst- und Mediacampus, Hamburg (Deutschland)

2012
Castello Angioino, Mola di Bari (Italien)
„Grafica d‘ Arte“, Accademia di Belle Arti, Bologna (Italien

Portfolio

Kunstwerke

Menü schließen
DE
EN DE
×