Gillo Dorfles

Gillo Dorfles

born 1910 in Trieste - † 2018 in Milan, Italy

The artist, art critic, author and philosopher Gillo Dorfles played an important role for the concrete art movement as well as for the development of contemporary art criticism.

Dorfles grew up in Genua although he was born in 1910 in Trieste where he returned to take up his medical studies during the late 1930s. After graduation he began to spend more and more time on art criticism and essay writing. When Art Informel movement started up in Italy, Dorfles founded together with Soldati, Monnet and Munari the Movimento arte concreta (MAC) which was also associated with his theorizing. Concrete art was intended to emanate "directly from the mind" and consequently to be more "cerebral". It is often composed of basic visual features such as planes, colors and forms. Unlike the „Zurich concrete" as Bill or Lohse who were in close contact with MAC Dorfles interpreted the term "concrete" on his own way: strictly geometric forms were displaced by amporphus structures that evolved from pure color and without any special reference. After the resolution of MAC in the late 1950s Dorfles focussed more and more on his personal way of painting.

His artworks have been shown in numerous retrospectives. " Il Kitsch ", " Il Feticcio quotidiano", " Le oscillazioni del gusto ", " Il disegno industriale e la sua estetica " or „Ultime tendenze dell’arte oggi” are only some of his most famous publications. His latest book "Gli artisti che ho incontrato" (Eng. "The artists I met") was published in 2015. 

"I've always wanted to be a painter, more than anything else, without thinking of the achievements, honors or profits that art can bring. It is the act of drawing and painting that has been almost a compelling necessity for me since my childhood. It has led me to scribble the pages of my textbooks (or were these wonderful inventions), the wood of hard school benches, or summer beaches in the sand. "

G.Dorfles, "Autogistificazione", in Gillo Dorfles. Metamorfosi, catalogo, curator L. Caramel, Fabbri, Milano, 1988, p. 25

2015
Km0, Innsbruck (Austria)
Montrasio Arte Gallery, Monza und Milan (Italy)

2014
Fondazione Marconi, Milan (Italy)
Casa Raffaello, Urbino (Italy)

2013
Mesopica Contmporanea, Rovagnate (Italy)

2012
Spazio 28, San Bernardino (Switzerland)
Milano Art Gallery, Milan (Italy)

2011
Biffi Arte moderna e Contemporanea, Piacenza (Italy)
Spazio Scultpure Art, Matera (Italy)
MART Museum, Rovereto (Italy)

2010
Palazzo Reale, Milan (Italy)
Colossi Arte Contemporanea, Brescia (Italy)
MAX. Museum, Chiasso (Switzerland)

2007
Civil Museum Revoltella (Italien)
Modern Art Gallery, Triest (Italien)
Spazio Temporaneo, Milan (Italy)

2006
Transarte Gallery, Rovereto (Italy)
Then Oratorio di Santa Cita Palermo (Italien)
Martano Gallery, Turin (Italy)

Artworks

Gillo Dorfles

geb. 1910 in Triest - † 2018 in Mailand, Italien

Dem Künstler, Kunstkritiker, Autor und Philosophen Gillo Dorfles wird eine wichtige Rolle sowohl für die Entwicklung der konkreten Kunstbewegung als auch einer zeitgenössischen Kunstkritik zugeschrieben.

Dorfles wurde 1910 in Triest geboren, wohin er nach seiner Kindheit in Genua zurückkehrte, um Ende der 1930er Jahre ein Medizinstudium zu absolvieren. Nach dessen Abschluss begann Dorfles sich zunehmend der Kunstkritik und Essayistik  zu widmen. Als Gegenbewegung zum sich in Italien ausbreitenden Informel gründete er 1948 zusammen mit Soldati, Monnet und Munari das “Movimento Arte Concreta” (MAC), welches in engem Zusammenhang mit seinen theoretischen Überlegungen zu sehen ist. Bei der Konkreten Kunst stehen Farbe und Formen nicht stellvertretend oder symbolisch für etwas, sondern materialisieren auf vermeintlich objektive Weise das Geistige, das Nicht-Sichtbare. Anders als die dem MAC nahestehenden “Züricher Konkreten” wie Bill oder Lohse interpretierte Dorfles den Begriff des Konkreten dabei frei: Anstelle streng geometrischer Formen treten bei ihm amorphe Gebilde, die sich ohne bewusste Referenz aus reiner Farbe entwickeln. Der rein persönlichen Bildsprache, wie sie bis heute seine Werke bestimmt, wendete er sich mit Auflösung des MAC Ende der 1950er Jahre zu.

Seine Malerei wurde in den letzten Jahren mit zahlreichen Retrospektiven gewürdigt. Zu Dorfles’ bekanntesten theoretischen Veröffentlichungen gehören Bücher wie  „Der Kitsch“, „Ästhetik der Zwietracht“, „Im Labyrinth des Geschmacks“, „ Gute Industrieform und ihre Ästhetik“ oder „Aktuelle Trends der gegenwärtigen Kunst“. Sein jüngstes Buch „Gli artisti che ho incontrato“ (dt.“Die Künstler, die ich traf“ ) ist Ende 2015 erschienen. 

„Ich wollte schon immer ein Kunstmaler sein, mehr als alles andere, ohne an Erfolge, Ehrungen oder Gewinne zu denken, die die Kunst mit sich bringen kann. Es ist der Akt des Zeichnens und des Malens, der für mich  – seit meiner Kindheit – beinahe eine zwingende Notwendigkeit war. Es hat mich dazu geführt, die Seiten meiner Schulbücher mit Kritzeleien (oder waren dies wunderbare Erfindungen), das Holz der harten Schulbänke, oder im Sand Sommerstrände.“

G.Dorfles, „Autogistificazione“, in Gillo Dorfles. Metamorfosi, catalogo, Kurator L. Caramel, Fabbri, Milano, 1988, p. 25

2015
Km0, Innsbruck (Österreich)
Montrasio Arte Gallery, Monza und Mailand (Italien)

2014
Fondazione Marconi, Mailand (Italien)
Casa Raffaello, Urbino (Italien)

2013
Mesopica Contmporanea, Rovagnate (Italien)

2012
Spazio 28, San Bernandino (Schweiz)
Milano Art Gallery, Mailand (Italien)

2011
Biffi Arte moderna e Contemporanea, Piacenza (Italien)
Spazio Scultpure Art, Matera (Italien)
MART Museum, Rovereto (Italien)

2010
Palazzo Reale, Mailand (Italien)
Colossi Arte Contemporanea, Brescia (Italien)
M.A.X. Museum, Chiasso (Schweiz)

2007
Civil Museum Revoltella (Italien)
Modern Art Gallery, Triest (Italien)
Spazio Temporaneo, Mailand (Italien)

2006
Transarte Gallery, Rovereto (Italien)
Then Oratorio di Santa Cita Palermo (Italien)
Martano Gallery, Turin (Italien)

Kunstwerke

Menü schließen
DE
EN DE
×