Pietro Finelli Artquisite

Pietro Finelli

born 1957 in Milan, Italy

An ode to the cinema, Pietro Finelli’s Oeuvre is a contemporary masterpiece comprising fragments from movie scenes and film history. During his art study at the Benevento’s Art High School and Architecture at Naples University Pietro Finelli discovered his passion for cinema, particularly in the classic american genre of film production – the „Noir“ movie of the 1940s and 1950s. Since that time the paintings, pastels, and collages of Finelli have the cinematics as a main subject. His interest in cinematography is based on the cognitive-visual process that this expressive medium triggers off in a problematic dimension, precisely in the „noir“ movies.

The artist is fascinated and literally captured by an atypical manner to emphasize primerily on the vision and the visibility of the artwork than on the theme. Finelli translates the high-contrast black-and-white cinematography of a group of favorite scenes into large size paintings with an idiosyncratic vision in subtle hues, half incisive characterization, half cartoon. With a few strokes on the canvas, Pietro Finelli creates the dark atmosphere of the mysterious "noir" films of the 1940s and 1950s. Dark obsession, dark spaces, mysterious, nocturnal view of anonymous cities, light and shadow, people without faces – all these details reinforce the alienation effect. In Finelli`s paintings the darkness makes visible.

“Pietro Finelli is a narrator of stories built on fragments of existence whose motivation stems from the need of seeking a profound identity, an "inherent substratum" that powerfully brings the fullness of living back. Finelli’s art is an iconography of intuition, which combines different levels of expression and allows them to interact, and which repeatedly dissolves the boundaries between reality and illusion. In this way, the signifier is free to proceed in an unlimited sequence of meanings, which are linked together in a never-ending process. As affirmed by Benjamin, in this process the continuous enrichment of "experiential quality" is possible. “ Tiziana Conti (Curator)

Pietro Finellis Werk wurde auf Ausstellungen in nationalen und internationalen Galerien und Museen gezeigt, darunter in der Galerie MC in New York, Il Ponte Contemporanea in Rom, Galerie Pack in Mailand, Castel Nuovo Museum in Neapel, Musée d’Art Moderne et Contemporain (Mamco) in Genf, Stiftung FJKlemm in Buenos Aires, Galerie Jacques Cerami in Belgien, VELAN Zentrum für Gegenwartskunst in Turin, Italien.

2017
Galerie Biffi, Piacenza (Italy)

2016
Galerie MC, New York (USA)
Arcos Museo d’arte Contemporanea, Benevento (Italy)
Palazzo Borromeo, Cesano Maderno MB (Italy)
Galerie Sergio Annovi, Sassuolo (Italy)

2015
Museo Civico Castelmagno, San Bartolomeo in Galdo (Italy)

2014
Galerie Pietro Monopoli, Mailand (Italy)

2013
Sala Crociera Centro Civico Treviglio BG (Italy)
Galerie Otto, Florenz (Italy)
Museum MAGI’900, Pieve di Cento BO (Italy)
Palazzo Ducale, Lucca (Italy)

2012
Einbahnstraße, Colonia210 Spinnerei, Leipzig (Germany)
Stuttgarter Kunstverein, Stuttgart (Germany)

2011
Galerie Formentini CIB, Mailand (Italy)

2010
RomaContemporanea, Rome (Italy)

Portfolio

Artworks

Pietro Finelli Artquisite

geb.1957 in Mailand, Italien

Pietro Finellis Oeuvre, eine Ode an das Kino, ist ein zeitgenössisches Meisterwerk, das Fragmente aus verschiedenen Filmszenen und Filmgeschichte vereint. Finelli entdeckt sein Interesse an der Kinematografie während seines Kunststudiums an der Benevento’s Art High School und Architektur an der Universität von Neapel. Er ist fasziniert von dem klassischen, amerikanischen Filmgenre „Noir“ der 1940er und 1950er Jahre. Seither ist der Dialog zwischen der Malerei und dem Kino, dem Leben und dem Kino, insbesondere dem Film „Noir“, das Hauptthema von Finelli`s Gemälden, Pastellen und Collagen.

Finelli`s Interesse an der Kinematografie beruht auf einem kognitiv-visuellen Prozess, den dieses ausdrucksvolle Medium durch die schwarze-weißen Kontraste verstärkt auslöst. Der Künstler ist buchstäblich gefangen von dieser atypischen Art und Weise, den Akzent primär auf die Vision und auf das Visuelle als auf das Thema zu setzen. Er übersetzt die kontrastreiche schwarz-weiße Filmatmosphäre einer Gruppe von Lieblingsszenen mit einer idiosynkratischen Vision in seinen großformatigen Gemälden mit subtilen Farbtönen – halb prägnanter Charakterisierung und Halbkarikatur. Mit einigen Pinselstrichen auf der Leinwand erschafft Pietro Finelli die dunkle Atmosphäre der geheimnisvollen „Noir“-Filme der 1940er und 1950er Jahre. Dunkle Obsession, dunkle Räume, geheimnisvolle, nächtliche Aussichten anonymer Städte, Licht und Schatten, Menschen ohne Gesichter – all diese Details verstärken den Entfremdungseffekt. In Finellis Gemälden macht die Dunkelheit das Eigene sichtbar.

„Pietro Finelli ist Erzähler von Geschichten, die auf Fragmenten der Existenz aufgebaut sind, deren Motivation aus der Notwendigkeit besteht, eine tiefere Identität zu suchen, ein sog.“ inhärentes Substrat „, das die Fülle des Lebens zurückbringt. Finellis Kunst ist eine Ikonographie der Intuition, die verschiedene Ebenen des Ausdrucks mit einander verbindet und wiederholt die Grenzen zwischen Realität und Illusion auflöst. Auf diese Weise ist der Betrachter frei, in einer unbegrenzten Reihenfolge von Bedeutungen einzutauchen, die in einem niemals endenden Prozess miteinander verbunden sind. Wie von Benjamin bestätigt wird, ist in diesem Prozess eine kontinuierliche Anreicherung der „Erfahrungsqualität“ möglich.“ Tiziana Conti (Kurator)

Pietro Finellis Werk wurde auf Ausstellungen in nationalen und internationalen Galerien und Museen gezeigt, darunter in der Galerie MC in New York, Il Ponte Contemporanea in Rom, Galerie Pack in Mailand, Castel Nuovo Museum in Neapel, Musée d’Art Moderne et Contemporain (Mamco) in Genf, Stiftung FJKlemm in Buenos Aires, Galerie Jacques Cerami in Belgien, VELAN Zentrum für Gegenwartskunst in Turin, Italien.

2017
Galerie Biffi, Piacenza (Italien)

2016
Galerie MC, New York (USA)
Arcos Museo d’arte Contemporanea, Benevento (Italien)
Palazzo Borromeo, Cesano Maderno MB (Italien)
Galerie Sergio Annovi, Sassuolo (Italien)

2015
Museo Civico Castelmagno, San Bartolomeo in Galdo (Italien)

2014
Galerie Pietro Monopoli, Mailand (Italien)

2013
Sala Crociera Centro Civico Treviglio BG (Italien)
Galerie Otto, Florenz (Italien)
Museum MAGI’900, Pieve di Cento BO (Italien)
Palazzo Ducale, Lucca (Italien)

2012
Einbahnstraße, Colonia210 Spinnerei, Leipzig (Deutschland)
Stuttgarter Kunstverein, Stuttgart (Deutschland)

2011
Galerie Formentini CIB, Mailand (Italien)

2010
RomaContemporanea, Rom (Italien)

Portfolio

Kunstwerke

Menü schließen
DE
EN DE
×