Sergio Vila, Artquisite

born in 1966 in Buenos Aires, Argentina

Sergio Vila, originally from Buenos Aires, Argentina, processes influences from both abstract and figurative art in his works. He considers modern art to move along the border of these two poles: His images are neither purely naturalistic nor strictly geometric-abstract but always a mixture of both.

Like many contemporary artists, he concerns himself with classical modernist masters but also mentions Bruce Nauman, Ed Ruscha, and Marcel Duchamp as sources of inspiration. In 1997, he traveled to the USA to study their original works in museums; he ended up staying for three years. This was a defining time for Vila who says that each of his works carries within a 'fragment' of the place where it was created.
During this period, in one of his best known groups of works, he graphically discusses the assassination of John F. Kennedy, using photographs and graphics from 1964's 'Time Magazine'. Vila uses the doubts about the circumstances of the assassination to alienate and edit the material so as to further stress the contradictions of the event. Through his own manipulations, he seeks to demonstrate the simplicity of changing images in order to pursue specific intentions. At the same time, Vila succeeds in making an individual analysis of an important event of the 20th century.
As his father was a Spaniard, Vila soon felt the need to get to know his homeland. Via Barcelona and Madrid, he reached Figueres in the province of Girona: a place steeped in history from an artist's point of view, as it was the home of the surrealist Salvador Dalí.

2017
KunstEtagenPankow, Berlin (Germany)

2016
Gallery Quimera, Buenos Aires (Argentina)

2015
KunstEtagenPankow, Berlin (Germany)

2014
Maison de L’Argentine, Cité Universitaire, Paris (France)
Fundación Pasaje 865, Buenos Aires (Argentina)

2013
Gallery Dolors Ventós, Figueres (Spain)

2010
Gallery Dolors Ventós, Figueres (Spain)

2003
Espacio Lux Arts, Barcelona (Spain)

Portfolio

Artworks

Close Menu
EN
DE EN
×

Sergio Vila, Artquisite

geb.1966 in Buenos Aires, Argentinien

Sergio Vila, gebürtig aus Buenos Aires in Argentinien, verarbeitet in seinen Bildern Einflüsse abstrakter wie figurativer Kunst. Moderne Kunst bewegt sich für ihn an der Grenze dieser beiden Pole: Seine Bilder sind weder rein naturalistisch noch streng geometrisch-abstrakt, sondern stets eine Mischung aus beidem.

Wie viele zeitgenössische Künstler beschäftigt er sich mit den Meistern der Klassischen Moderne, nennt aber auch Bruce Nauman, Ed Ruscha oder Marcel Duchamp als Inspirationsquellen. 1997 reist er in die USA, um die Arbeiten in Museen im Original zu studieren; es werden drei Jahre daraus. Für Vila ist diese Zeit prägend, denn wie er sagt, trägt jedes seiner Werke ein „Fragment“ des Ortes in sich, an dem es entstand.
In dieser Zeit setzt er sich in einer seiner bekanntesten Werkgruppen bildlich mit der Ermordung John F. Kennedys auseinander. Als Ausgangsmaterial dienen ihm Fotografien und Grafiken aus dem „Time Magazine“ von 1964. Die Zweifel am Tathergang nimmt Vila zum Anlass, das Material so zu verfremden und zu bearbeiten, dass die Widersprüche noch stärker zutage treten. Durch seine eigenen Manipulationen will er demonstrieren, wie einfach es ist, Bilder zu verändern und so bestimmte Intentionen zu verfolgen. Zugleich gelingt Vila eine individuelle Auseinandersetzung mit einem wichtigen Ereignis aus dem Zeitgeschehen des 20. Jahrhunderts.
Da sein Vater Spanier war, verspürt er früh das Bedürfnis, dessen Heimatland kennenzulernen. Über Stationen in Barcelona und Madrid gelangt er nach Figueres in der Provinz Girona: an einen aus kunsthistorischer Sicht geschichtsträchtigen Ort, in die Heimat des Surrealisten Salvador Dalí.

2017
KunstEtagenPankow, Berlín (Deutschland)

2016
Galerie Quimera, Buenos Aires (Argentinien)

2015
KunstEtagenPankow, Berlín (Deutschland)

2014
Maison de L’Argentine, Cité Universitaire, Paris (Frankreich)
Fundación Pasaje 865, Buenos Aires (Argentinien)

2013
Galerie Dolors Ventós, Figueres (Spanien)

2010
Galería Dolors Ventós, Figueres (Spanien)

2003
Espacio Lux Arts, Barcelona (Spanien)

Portfolio

Kunstwerke

Menü schließen
DE
EN DE
×