Stefan Nestoroski, Zeichnungen

Stefan Nestoroski

born in 1989 in Struga, Macedonia

Stefan Nestoroski, born in 1989 in Struga (Macedonia), lives and works in Rome. His work is interdisciplinary: It ranges from ink and pencil drawings on paper to video installations and works that involve viewer interaction. In 2015 he and Aidan Celeste created the 24-hour intervention "Sometimes Very Close to Nothing at All" in a derelict house in Birżebbuġa, Malta. It served as a single oversized Camera Obscura to research the "alchemical quality of light", according to Nestoroski. Traces of the now demolished building have been preserved in image and film recordings.

The works of Stefan Nestoroski deal with the oscillation between two poles: what we see, i.e. what serves as the meaning or content for an object or lifeform, and what it can be. In other words: The artist is of the opinion that there is still yet something further to understand in our world. That beyond the things, there must be more than is fathomable at first glance. In the moment when he puts a motif on paper, he seeks to expose this double meaning. He completes his drawings swiftly, often within seconds: once the ink has dried, it cannot be revised further. Nestoroski mixes water with a few drops of ink and goes on to distribute it with his fingers across the paper. Forms that recall without literally representing are developed in an intuitive, spontaneous way – identifiable and abstract at the same time.

Nestoroski studied Sculpture and Fine Arts at the Accademia di Belle Arti in Florence and at the LUCA School of Arts in Brussels. Artist-in-Residence programs allowed him residency at the Mustarinda colony of artists in Hyrynsalmi, Finland.
In 2016 Nestoroski was among the finalists for the renowned "Coming People" art award, the Friends of the S.M.A.K. (Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst in Gent/Belgium) Prize. His work has been shown in numerous group and solo exhibitions such as "abWesend" as part of the VIENNA ART WEEK at Locomot Gallery in 2015, and at the Church of Saint Rocco in Carnago ("Il Terzo Uomo", alongside Fabrizio Milani).
Contemporary art aficionados will be sure to hear more about this artist in the near future.

Stefan Nestoroski:

I have a special relation to drawing, because drawing is not so much an expressive means as it is an analytical tool that can expose the way our intellect operates, back and forth between thing and concept, word and image.

2017
The Serialist, Centro Luigi di Sarro, Rome (Italy)
Il Terzo Uomo (with Fabrizio Milani), Chiesa San Rocco, Carnago (Italy)
Ubi Fracassorium, Ibi Fuggitorium, artQ13, Rome (Italy)

2016
Opere su carta, Studio Legale LBN, Rome (Italy)
Fuori Tutto, MAS (Magazzini allo Statuto), Rome (Italy)
Coming People 2016, S.M.A.K., Ghent (Belgium)
Chunk2, Santi FIlippo e Giacomo Hall (cur. Caef team), Brescia (Italy)
11th One Minute Film and Video Festival (screening), Aarau (Switzerland)
In Linea d'Aria, artQ13 - independent art space (cur. Stefan Nestoroski), Rome (Italy)
Off Course Young Art Fair, The Dynasty, Brussels (Belgium)
Quotidiana, Altinate San Gaetano Cultural Centre (cur. team of curators), Padua (Italy)

2015
Sometimes Very Close to Nothing at All, (collaborative in situ intervention with Aidan Celeste), organised with Fragmenta Malta, Birzabugga (Malta)
How To Show You, Platform Platvorm, Melkweg, Amsterdam (Netherlands)
abWessend, Locomot Gallery, Die Requisite (cur. Lara Bellenghi), Vienna (Austria)
Jonge Kunstenaars 2015, (cur. Filip Luyckx), Sint Lukas
Gallery, Brussels (Belgium)
More Cuts Please, graduation exhibition MFA, Komplot, Brussels (Belgium)
Stripped to Tease, Locomot Gallery, (cur. Lara Bellenghi), Vienna (Austria)

2012
StARTPoint II, Palazzo Medici Riccardi, Florence (Italy)
artTRA, Californian State University Campus, Florence (Italy)

2011
REcycle Sustainable Exhibition, Spazio A, Milan (Italy)
ItalItaly, Fondation Roberto Peano, Cuneo (Italy)

2010
StARTPoint I, Museum of Archeology, Florence (Italy)
La Nativita nell’Arte, City Hall, Lanciano (Italy)

Portfolio

Artworks

Stefan Nestoroski, Zeichnungen

geb.1989 in Struga , Macedonien

Stefan Nestoroski, geboren 1989 in Struga (Mazedonien), lebt und arbeitet in Rom. Sein Werk ist interdisziplinär: Es reicht von Zeichnungen mit Tinte und Bleistift auf Papier über Videoinstallationen bis zu Arbeiten, die den Betrachter einbeziehen. So bespielte er 2015 mit der 24-stündigen Intervention „Sometimes Very Close to Nothing at All“, gemeinsam mit Aidan Celeste, ein verfallenes Haus in Birżebbuġa auf Malta. Es fungierte als eine einzige, überdimensionale Camera Obscura, um – so Nestoroski – die „alchemistische Qualität des Lichts“ zu untersuchen. Die Spuren des inzwischen abgerissenen Gebäudes sind in Bild- und Filmaufnahmen konserviert.

In den Arbeiten von Stefan Nestoroski geht es um das Changieren zwischen zwei Polen: Dem, was wir sehen, was als Bedeutung oder als Gehalt für einen Gegenstand oder ein Wesen gilt, und dem, was es noch sein kann. Oder anders gesagt: Der Künstler ist der Ansicht, dass es in unserer Welt noch etwas zu verstehen geben müsse. Hinter den Dingen muss mehr sein, als sich auf den ersten Blick erschließt. In dem Moment, in dem er ein Motiv auf Papier bringt, möchte er diese doppelte Bedeutung freilegen. Seine Zeichnungen entstehen schnell, oft in wenigen Sekunden: Wenn die Tinte einmal trocknet, lässt sie sich nicht mehr bearbeiten. Nestoroski vermischt Wasser mit einigen Tropfen Tinte und verteilt dies mit den Fingern über das Papier. In intuitiver, spontaner Weise entstehen Formen, die an etwas erinnern, ohne es tatsächlich darzustellen – identifizierbar und abstrakt zugleich.

Studiert hat Nestoroski Bildhauerei und Bildende Kunst an der Accademia di Belle Arti in Florenz und der LUCA School of Arts in Brüssel. Artist-in-Residence-Programme führten ihn etwa nach Hyrynsalmi in Finnland in das Künstlerhaus Mustarinda.
Nestoroski war 2016 unter den Finalisten des renommierten Kunstpreises „Coming People“ der Friends of the S.M.A.K. (Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst in Gent/Belgien). Seine Arbeiten waren bereits in zahlreichen Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen zu sehen, beispielsweise 2015 in „abWesend“ im Rahmen der VIENNA ART WEEK bei der Galerie Locomot oder 2017 in der Kirche San Rocco in Carnago („Il Terzo Uomo“, zusammen mit Fabrizio Milani).
Wer sich für zeitgenössische Kunst begeistert, wird von diesem Künstler in Zukunft sicherlich noch viel hören.

Stefan Nestoroski:

„Ich habe eine ganz besondere Beziehung zum Zeichnen. Für mich ist das Zeichnen nicht einfach ein künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel. Es ist viel mehr: Ein analytisches Werkzeug, das die Art und Weise enthüllt, wie unser Intellekt funktioniert und wie er Beziehungen zwischen Dingen und Konzepten, Worten und Bildern herstellt.“

2017
The Serialist, Centro Luigi di Sarro, Rom (Italien)
Il Terzo Uomo (with Fabrizio Milani), Chiesa San Rocco, Carnago (Italien)
Ubi Fracassorium, Ibi Fuggitorium, artQ13, Rom (Italien)

2016
Opere su carta, Studio Legale LBN, Rom
 (Italien)
Fuori Tutto, MAS (Magazzini allo Statuto), Rom (Italien)
Coming People 2016, S.M.A.K., Gent (Belgien)
Chunk2, Santi FIlippo e Giacomo Hall (cur. Caef team), Brescia (Italien)
11th One Minute Film and Video Festival (screening), Aarau (Schweiz)
In Linea d’Aria, artQ13 – independent art space (cur. Stefan Nestoroski), Rom (Italien)
Off Course Young Art Fair, The Dynastie, Brüssel (Belgien)
Quotidiana, Altinate San Gaetano Cultural Centre (cur. team of curators), Padua (Italien)

2015
Sometimes Very Close to Nothing at All, (collaborative in situ intervention with Aidan Celeste), organised with Fragmenta Malta, Birzabugga (Malta)
how What You Want Show, Platform Platvorm, Melkweg, Amsterdam (Niederlande)
abWessend, Locomot Galerie, Die Requisite (cur. Lara Bellenghi), Wien (Österreich)
Jonge Kunstenaars 2015, (cur. Filip Luyckx), Sint Lukas
Galerie, Brüssel (Belgien)
More Cuts Please, graduation exhibition MFA, Komplot, Brüssel (Belgien)
Stripped to Tease, Locomot Galerie, (cur. Lara Bellenghi), Wien (Österreich)

2012
StARTPoint II , Palazzo Medici Riccardi, Florenz (Italien)
artTRA, Californian State University Campus, Florenz (Italien)

2011
REcycle Sustainable Exhibition, Spazio A, Mailand (Italien)
ItalItaly, Fondazione Roberto Peano, Cuneo (Italien)

2010
StARTPoint I, Museum für Archäologie, Florenz (Italien)
La Nativita nell’Arte, City Hall, Lanciano (Italien)

Portfolio

Kunstwerke

Menü schließen
DE
EN DE
×