Spirit Of Color

Curated by Daniela Ilieva

Featuring works by Carlo Bertè, Gillo Dorfles, Umberto Faini, Sandro Martini, Valentino Vago and Urs Bachsteffel, the exhibit “The Spirit of Color” showcases a selection of works from six established contemporary art approaches that all embrace color as a common theme.

What is color? How can color be applied? And what and how can it be used to convey?

These six artists, who are predominantly a represent of today’s Italian cultural landscape – one that can glimpse back to centuries old traditions in the use and application of color – foster their very own approach to the topic.

 

Gillo Dorfles, Artquisite

Gillo Dorfles

 

Gillo Dorfles developed his own approach to “concrete art” that emerged from a countermovement to the Italian Arte Informale of the 1950s. Relying on Goethe’s Theory of Colors, he replaces harsh geometric forms with amorphous ones born, without precedent, “from the color”. In so doing, these forms obtain their own concreteness. His colorful drawings populated with surreal beings target the non-verbal visual and the rational thought of the viewer as an archetypal primeval form for human beings.

 

Umberto Faini, Artquisite
Umberto Faini

 

Umberto Faini also demands his viewers’ power of association and rationale with his fleetingly conceived landscape paintings rendered as printed graphics. The primary interest lies in an artistic exploration of dependencies and conditions of color, light and perception that appears akin to the body of thought embraced by the Impressionism of Monet or perhaps the Pointilists.

 

Urs Bachsteffel, Artquisite
Urs Bachsteffel

 

For Urs Bachsteffel , color holds on to a spiritual moment beyond the echoes of Impressionism. Like one recognizable in the Abstract Expressionism of a Jackson Pollock: it is as if she is translating a personal letter in her layered paintings and striving towards impressions of physical and emotional presence.

Valentino Vago, Artquisite
Valentino Vago

 

However, only with Valentino VagoValentino Vago does the physical moment as raw material take the use of color to another level. He paints exclusively with his bare hands. His “search for the path leading the beauty of painting to its birth” is especially shaped by his corporeal interaction with the painting.

Sandro Martini, Carlo Berte, Artquisite
Sandro Martini and Carlo Berté

 

Auch Carlo Berté also consciously focuses on physical properties and coincidences arising in his over-paintings from the paint application and painting process. He embraces them in order to ultimately appropriate them as his own in his interpretation of catastrophe.

Sandro Martini uses his works to convey his ultimate concept: the use of color and illustration is above all about transporting painting beyond its boundaries. From canvas works to sculptures to “work in progress” installations to novel fresco techniques, he conceptualizes his abstract paintings from an area within the space and, in the process, repositions the centuries old notions about painting – the perfect illusionistic conceptualization of space through color.

To sum it up in the words of Theo van Doesburg: “Painting is a means for manifesting thoughts in an optical way. Every pictures is a colored thought.”

This online art exhibition offers a first glimpse of Artquisite’s program which will be dedicated to creating curated presentations featuring selected themes and artistic landscapes.

Close Menu
EN
DE EN
×

Spirit Of Color

Kuratiert von Daniela Ilieva

Mit Carlo Berté, Gillo Dorfles, Umberto Faini, Sandro Martini, Valentino Vago und Urs Bachsteffel präsentiert die Ausstellung „Spirit of Color“ ausgewählte Werke von sechs etablierten künstlerischen Positionen der Gegenwart, denen das Thema Farbe gemein ist.

Was ist Farbe? Wie kann Farbe eingesetzt werden? Und was kann sie wie transportieren?

Die sechs Künstler, die vorwiegend der heutigen italienischen Kulturlandschaft entstammen, die auf eine Jahrhunderte alte Tradition im Umgang und Einsatz von Farbe zurückblicken kann, pflegen ihren ganz eigenen Umgang mit dem Thema.

 

Gillo Dorfles, Artquisite

Gillo Dorfles

 

Gillo Dorfles entwickelte so ausgehend von einer Gegenbewegung zum italienischen Informel der 1950er Jahren seinen eigenen Ansatz zur „Konkreten Malerei“: Unter Berufung auf die Farbenlehre Goethes ersetzt er die strengen geometrischen Formen durch amorphe Gebilde, die ohne vorherige Referenz „aus der Farbe heraus“ entstehen und auf diese Weise ihre ganz eigene Konkretheit erlangen sollten. Seine bunten, auf diese Weise von surrealen Wesen bevölkerten Farbaufzeichnungen zielen bis heute auf das non-verbale visuelle wie rationelle Denken des Betrachters als archetypische Urform zum Menschen.

 

Umberto Faini, Artquisite
Umberto Faini

 

Umberto Faini beansprucht ebenso das Assoziations- und Denkvermögen seiner Betrachter, das seine in die Druckgraphik übersetzte Malerei als flüchtig gedachten Landschaftsbilder sichtbar machen soll. Das vorrangige Interesse liegt jedoch in einer künstlerischen Erforschung der Abhängigkeiten und Bedingungen von Farbe, Licht und Wahrnehmung, die dem Gedankengut des Impressionismus eines Monets oder vielmehr der Pointillisten nahezustehen scheinen.

 

Urs Bachsteffel, Artquisite
Urs Bachsteffel

 

Bei Urs Bachsteffel erhält die Farbe über impressionistische Anklänge hinaus ein seelisches Moment, wie man dies aus dem abstrakten Expressionismus eines Jackson Pollocks zu kennen vermag: Eine Art persönliches Schreiben übersetzt sie in ihre Schichtmalerei und zielt dabei auf Impressionen physischer und auch psychischer Präsenz.

Valentino Vago, Artquisite
Valentino Vago

 

Den physischen Moment als rohes Material erhält Farbe in einem weiteren Schritt jedoch erst bei Valentino Vago. Er malt seine Bilder ausschließlich mit den bloßen Händen. Seine „Suche nach dem Weg der Schönheit der Malerei zur Geburt zu verhelfen“ ist dadurch vor allem von einem körperlichen Umgang mit der Malerei geprägt.

Sandro Martini, Carlo Berte, Artquisite
Sandro Martini und Carlo Berté

 

Auch Carlo Berté konzentriert sich bei seinen Übermalungen bewusst auf physische Eigenschaften und Zufälle bei Farbauftrag und Malprozess, auf die er sich einlässt, um sie schließlich für seine Übersetzung des Themas der Katastrophe zu eigen zu machen.

Sandro Martini transportiert in seinen Arbeiten schließlich den absolutesten Ansatz: Der Einsatz von Farbe und Zeichnung bedeutet bei ihm vor allem die Malerei über ihre Grenzen hinaus zu bringen; von der Leinwandarbeit über Skulpturen und „work in progress“- Installationen bis hin zu neuartigen Freskentechniken denkt er seine abstrakten Gemälde von der Fläche in den Raum und dreht dabei um, was einmal vor Jahrhunderten am Anfang der Malerei stand – die perfekte illusionistische Übersetzung des Raumes in die Fläche mit Hilfe von Farbe.

Um es mit den Worten Theo van Doesburgs zusammenzufassen: „Die Malerei ist ein Mittel, um auf optische Weise den Gedanken zu verwirklichen. Jedes Bild ist ein Farbgedanke.“

Mit dieser  virtuellen Ausstellung wird ein erster Blick auf das Programm von Artquisite gegeben, welches sich mit kuratierten Präsentationen weiteren ausgewählten Themenfeldern und Kunstlandschaften widmen wird.

Menü schließen
DE
EN DE
×