Spirit Of Paper

Curated by Daniela Ilieva

Despite the advanced digitalization, we could not imagine our everyday lives without paper. Though paper has had a long tradition as the bearer of artworks, be they drawings, aquatint etchings, reliefs or print works, paper has freed itself from its shadowy existence as picture medium for studies and sketches. Today, paper has emancipated itself as a medium for an autonomous art language, holdings its ground amongst other materials.

The topic of this exhibit with works by four prominent Italian contemporary artists is the paper as a medium. The focus  is on artworks by Gillo Dorfles, Carlo Bertè, Sandro Martini and Jano Sicura as these artists take very diverse approaches to paper applying very distinguish techniques in their artworks.

Paper, which has very specific properties, can develop a distinct aesthetic during various artistic processes like drawing, aquarelle, and print graphics or tearing, folding and pasting as collage material and can only then be consciously recognized and experienced as paper.
Various contemporary manifestations are on display here as  paper works spanning drawing (aquarelle, charcoal, chalk or pen) and print graphic techniques (reliefs, aquatints and etchings).

Kuratierte Ausstellung Sandro Martini
Sandro Martini, Collagen Veve, 2004 & Rati, 2002

For his marerial pictures Sandro Martini always resorts back to paper because its properties allow it to combine particularly well with other materials. Depending on how it is handled, paper can be fragile or stabile, transient or permanent, flexible or resistant.

Sandro Martini, Cage Sala, Artuisite
Sandro Martini, Cage Sala, 2006

Gillo Dorfles prefers to capture his imaginary, supernatural world on paper. Fascinating, fantastic robots, curious cybernauts, proboscides and snail-like creatures, insects and bats, anchorites and moon men tumble around in a surreal metaphysical space guiding the viewer through a mysterious, hermetic, self-contained inner world.

Kuratierte Ausstellung, Gillo Dofles
Gillo Dorfles

In his first theoretical work, «The Technical discourse of Art» («Il discorso tecnico dell'arte», 1952/2003 Marinotti), the art critic Gillo Dorfles draws attention away from the predominantly contextual analysis common in Italian art theory to an interpretation of the art work based on its technical and material aspects. Art is first made real and brought to life through its material. In his analysis of forms of expression and structures in music, painting, sculpture and architecture, Dorfles searches for art’s structural units in order to uncover their relation to time and space. He comes to the conclusion that there are no structural rules but that any possible laws or norms are only evident a posteriori and that they are, either way, in constant flux. (B. Fässler, “Seismograph of the Present” (“Seismograph der Gegenwart”).

Carlo Berte, Works on Paper
Carlo Bertè, Baptistery, 2008

The scenes devoid of people that Carlo Berte creates on white cardboard are part of a very unique creative process. He is interested in the catastrophe of mankind’s existence and is inspired by nocturnal settings, dreamscapes and enigmatic and at times burning ruins of the fantastical architectural structures of Baroque painter Monsù Desiderio.

Spirit Of Paper

Kuratiert von Daniela Ilieva

Trotz zunehmender Digitalisierung ist das Medium Papier nicht aus unserem alltäglichen Umgang wegzudenken. Papier hat zwar eine lange Tradition als Träger für Kunstwerke, sei es als Zeichnung, Aquatintradierung, Reliefdruck oder Druckgrafik, doch tatsächlich befreite sich Papier von seinem Schattendasein als Bildträger für Studien oder Vorzeichnungen erst in der Gegenwart. Heute emanzipiert sich Papier als Medium einer eigenständigen Kunstsprache und behauptet sich gegenüber anderen Materialien.

Diese Themenausstellung „The Spirit of Paper“ wird explizit dem Medium Papier gewidmet, welches durch die Arbeiten von vier herausragenden italienischen Künstlern wie Gillo Dorfles, Carlo Berte, Sandro Martini und Jano Sicura erörtert wird. Die ausgewählten Künstler gehen sehr vielfältig an das Material Papier heran und verwenden unterschiedliche Techniken in ihren Arbeiten.

Papier mit seinen ganz spezifischen Eigenschaften, entwickelt in den unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Prozessen als Zeichnung, Aquarell und Druckgraphik oder gerissen, gefaltet, geklebt als Material für Collagen seine unverwechselbare Ästhetik und kann erst dadurch bewusst als Papier wahrgenommen und erlebt werden.
Die diversen zeitgenössischen Erscheinungsformen finden Ausdruck in dieser Ausstellung, in der ausschließlich Papierarbeiten zusammengestellt wurden, die eine Bandbreite zeichnerischer (Aquarell, Kohle, Kreide oder Feder) sowie druckgrafischer Techniken (Reliefdruck, Aquatinta und Radierung) umfassen .

Kuratierte Ausstellung Sandro Martini
Sandro Martini, Collagen Veve, 2004 & Rati, 2002

Für seine Materialbilder verwendet Sandro Martini immer wieder auch Papier, das sich aufgrund seiner Eigenschaften ganz besonders gut zur Kombination mit anderen Materialien eignet. Je nach Bearbeitung zeigt Papier eine ebenso fragile wie stabile, vergängliche wie dauerhafte, flexible oder widerständige Charakteristik.

Sandro Martini, Cage Sala, Artuisite
Sandro Martini, Cage Sala, 2006

Gillo Dorfles bannt seine imaginäre übersinnliche Welt vorzugsweise auf das Medium Papier. Hier tummeln sich faszinierende, fantastische Roboter, neugierige Cybernauten, Rüsseltiere und Schneckenwesen, Insekten und Fledermäuse, Anachoreten und Mondmenschen, in einem surreal-metaphysische Raum und führen den Betrachter in eine geheimnisvolle, hermetisch abgeschlossene Innenwelt.

Kuratierte Ausstellung, Gillo Dofles
Gillo Dorfles

In seinem ersten theoretischen Werk, «Der technische Diskurs der Kunst» («Il discorso tecnico dell’arte», 1952/2003 Marinotti), lenkt der Kunstkritiker Gillo Dorfles die Aufmerksamkeit von der bisher mehrheitlich inhaltlichen Analyse in der italienischen Kunsttheorie, zur Interpretation der Kunstwerke auf deren technischen und materiellen Aspekt. Erst durch das Material wird Kunst wirklich und gelangt zu ihrer Existenz. In seiner Analyse der Ausdrucksformen und Strukturen von Musik, Malerei, Skulptur und Architektur, sucht Dorfles die Konstruktionseinheiten der Künste und ihren Bezug zu Zeit und Raum aufzudecken und kommt zur Überzeugung, dass es keine strukturellen Regeln gibt, sondern dass sich allfällige Gesetzmäßigkeiten erst a posteriori herausschälen und sich so oder so ständig verändern. (B. Fässler, „Seismograph der Gegenwart“).

Carlo Berte, Works on Paper
Carlo Bertè, Baptisterium, 2008

Die menschenleeren Szenerien, die Carlo Berte auf weißem Karton erschafft, sind Teil eines ganz besonderen Schaffensprozesses. Sein Interesse gilt den Katastrophen menschlichen Daseins und ist inspiriert von den nächtlichen Szenen, Traumlandschaften und rätselhaften, teils brennenden Ruinen der phantastischen Architekturen des Barockmalers Monsù Desiderio.

 
Menü schließen
DE
EN DE
×